Orchids of Taman Pertanian Sabah

These are some of the mesmerising orchids displayed at the Orchid Garden corner in Taman Pertanian Sabah. Orchids are classified under the family of Orchidaceae, which then divided into 6 main sub-families: Apostasioideae, Cypripedioideae, Neottioideae, Orchidoideae, Epidendroideae and Vandoideae. Orchids are wild species and majority of orchids are perennial epiphytes, which grow anchored to trees or shrubs.

With more 800 genera and more than 22,000 species, only experts can identify them exactly. More and more of new orchid species added each year, including the new hybrids and cultivated. We could only identify Paphiopedilum rothschildianum (the last photo). For those interested in learning more about Orchids, specific and detailed information can found through the Internet. One of the good website is www.orchidenthusia.com which focus on orchids in Malaysia.


Joyce G. Emor said...

Beautiful flowers. Keep posting.

Aree said...

Hi love you flowers, sheer!!!

Post a Comment

Thank you for your Comments & have a Good Day!